Skip to main content

Heart of Deception

About the Book

Heart of Deception

From M. L. Malcolm, the acclaimed author of Heart of Lies, comes a powerful sequel that spans the years from World War II to the turbulent 1960s --- the riveting story of a family struggling with choices forced upon them by war…and the consequences that will take a generation to unfold.

A man of many contradictions, Leo Hoffman is a Hungarian national with a French passport, a wealthy businessman with no visible means of support, and a devoted father who hasn't seen his daughter in years. He is also a spy.

Recruited by the Allies to help lay the groundwork for their invasion of North Africa, Leo intends to engage in as little espionage as possible --- just enough to earn his American citizenship so he can get to New York and reunite with his daughter, Maddy. But while Leo dodges death in France and Morocco, Maddy is learning shocking truths about her father's mysterious past --- haunting knowledge that will compel her down her own dangerous path of deception and discovery.

Heart of Deception
by M. L. Malcolm

  • Publication Date: April 5, 2011
  • Paperback: 352 pages
  • Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
  • ISBN-10: 0061962198
  • ISBN-13: 9780061962196