ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

A Mom and Her Chronically Ill Child Receive a Valuable Lesson from an Unlikely Source

A very special dog unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person’s lost cause can be another’s greatest gift.

A Young Outcast Braves the Hardships of Kentucky’s Great Depression

She brings truly magical objects to her people --- books --- in this new novel inspired by the brave women of the Pack Horse Library Project.

Special Contests


Win 12 Copies of MANHATTAN BEACH for Your Group and an Opportunity to Chat with Jennifer Egan

Winner of the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction, MANHATTAN BEACH tells the haunting story of Anna Kerrigan, who becomes the Brooklyn Naval Yard's first female diver during World War II, and her search for her missing father.

We are giving five groups the chance to win 12 copies of this New York Times bestselling novel, plus the opportunity to chat with its author, Jennifer Egan. Ten additional readers will be awarded a copy of the book, which was last year's "One Book, One New York" pick. The deadline for your entries is Thursday, June 27th at noon ET.

» Click here to enter the contest.


Win 12 Copies of THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake for Your Group

Moving through three generations and back and forth in time, THE GUEST BOOK tells the story of a family and a country that buries its past in quiet, until the present calls forth a reckoning. We are celebrating the release of Sarah Blake's triumphant new novel --- following 2010's THE POSTMISTRESS --- with a special contest that will give three groups the chance to win 12 copies of the book. The deadline for your entries is Thursday, June 6th at noon ET.

» Click here to enter the contest.

Latest Guides

A young outcast braves the hardships of Kentucky’s Great Depression and brings truly magical objects to her people: books. Kim Michele Richardson's fourth novel is inspired by the brave women of the Pack Horse Library Project.

Cape May by Chip Cheek - Historical Fiction

A mesmerizing debut novel by Chip Cheek, CAPE MAY explores the social and sexual mores of 1950s America through the eyes of a newly married couple from the genteel south corrupted by sophisticated New England urbanites.

Moving through three generations and back and forth in time, THE GUEST BOOK asks how we remember and what we choose to forget. It shows the untold secrets we inherit and pass on, unknowingly echoing our parents and grandparents. Sarah Blake’s triumphant novel tells the story of a family and a country that buries its past in quiet, until the present calls forth a reckoning.

From the bestselling author of EVERYTHING I NEVER TOLD YOU comes a riveting novel that traces the intertwined fates of the picture-perfect Richardson family and the enigmatic mother and daughter who upend their lives.

Manhattan Beach by Jennifer Egan - Historical Fiction

A daring and magnificent novel from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jennifer Egan, MANHATTAN BEACH is a dazzling and propulsive exploration of a transformative moment in the lives and identities of women and men, of America and the world.

Mistress of the Ritz by Melanie Benjamin - Historical Fiction

Melanie Benjamin's captivating novel is based on the story of the extraordinary real-life American woman who secretly worked for the French Resistance during World War II --- while playing hostess to the invading Germans at the iconic Hôtel Ritz in Paris.

Kate Moore, who was introduced to readers in THE EXPATS, is back in a pulse-pounding thriller to discover that a massive terror attack across Paris is not what it seems --- and that it involves her family.

In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of AN UNEXPECTED GRACE and A DOG'S WAY HOME, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source --- a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person’s lost cause can be another’s greatest gift.