ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

From the Award-Winning Author of THE HALFWAY HOUSE, a Wise, Heartfelt Novel

Claire must reconcile her unorthodox upbringing with the demands of her family --- and decide what she's willing to sacrifice for independence.

A Poignant Breakout Novel for Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand

A single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat: She must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

Jodi Picoult Delivers a Gripping Narrative on Privilege and Power in SMALL GREAT THINGS

An African-American nurse experiences racism at a critical moment. She must make an impossible choice and face the consequences.

Join Our Book Group Checkup and Get Your Group Back on Track

No time like the present to evaluate your group! We provide questions to get you started and share feedback from our readers.

A LOWCOUNTRY HEART Collects Pat Conroy's Final Words and Heartfelt Remembrances

This new volume brings together some of the most charming interviews, magazine articles, speeches and letters from Conroy's long literary career.

Win 12 Copies of THE BOOK THAT MATTERS MOST by Ann Hood for Your Group

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, January 4th at noon ET.

Featured Contests and Guides

Join ReadingGroupGuides.com's Ongoing Book Group Checkup

This month at ReadingGroupGuides.com, we're particularly interested in the dynamics of your book group. We know that --- for longterm groups especially --- it can be hard to evaluate how your group is doing and get back on track. That's why we think groups will benefit from a Book Group Checkup: It gives your group an opportunity to do a self-check to be sure its goals are still being met. We've been asking readers to share some thoughts and tips for optimizing meetings, which you can check out, and share your own as well.

» Click here for our Book Group Checkup questions, and to see feedback from other readers.
 



MEANTIME
 

by Katharine Noel

Claire has never had a typical family. When she was nine, her father fell in love with a married woman, and the two households agreed to live under one roof. They were infamous in the community for their eccentric, free-spirited lifestyle. Now, her stepsister Nicole has set her mind to having a baby on her own, and Claire's husband is enthusiastic about starting a family as well. But Claire wants to avoid an ordinary existence at all costs. Then Jeremy becomes seriously ill, and his high-school sweetheart Gita is a bit too eager to lend a hand in his recovery. Faced with Nicole's pregnancy and Jeremy's increasing closeness with his ex, Claire must decide what she's willing to sacrifice for independence.
 
» Click here for the featured guide.

 

INHERITING EDITH
by Zoe Fishman

Single mother Maggie Sheets inherits a beautiful beach house with one caveat: She must take care of Edith, the ornery woman who lives in it. Edith has Alzheimer's, but she remembers clearly her daughter Liza, who took her own life, and is not happy to be left to a poorly dressed woman with a toddler in tow. But as summer days wane, a tenuous bond forms, and Edith, who feels the urgency of her diagnosis, shares a secret that she’s held close for five decades, launching Maggie on a mission that might just lead them each to what they are looking for.
 
» Click here for the featured guide.

 

SMALL GREAT THINGS 
by Jodi Picoult

Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than 20 years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders, or does she intervene? Ruth hesitates before performing CPR and, as a result, is charged with a serious crime.
 
» Click here for the featured guide.

New Guides

An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets, friendship and the healing power of literature, by the bestselling author of THE KNITTING CIRCLE.

From the critically acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of FALLING THROUGH THE EARTH and ANGELOLOGY comes a beautifully written and haunting new memoir which follows the author and her young family to a small village in France where they soon settle into the house of their fantasies, a medieval stone fortress that soon becomes a dark and prescient metaphor for the author’s failing marriage.

A poignant breakout novel, for fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand, about a single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat --- she must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it. 

MEANTIME by Katharine Noel is a beautifully wrought, emotionally riveting novel about two fiercely independent sisters drawn together in the wake of life-changing events as they reimagine their futures and redefine their beliefs in family.

In this absorbing new entry in the acclaimed New York Times bestselling series, Scotland Yard’s Ian Rutledge is caught up in a twisted web of vengeance and murder.

The winner of the 2016 Man Booker Prize, THE SELLOUT is a biting, comic novel of a young black man's psychological upbringing and journey to the Supreme Court, satirizing race relations in the 21st century. 

In this mega-bestseller from France and the follow-up to THE YELLOW EYES OF CROCODILES, a woman contends with divorce, family trouble and even murder in her journey to discover who she really is.

With richly layered characters and a gripping moral dilemma that will lead readers to question everything they know about privilege, power and race, SMALL GREAT THINGS is the stunning new page-turner from #1 New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult.

The New York Times bestselling author of LABOR DAY and AFTER HER returns with a poignant story about the true meaning --- and the true price --- of friendship.

Anne-Marie Slaughter offers her vision for what true equality between men and women really means, and how we can get there.