Skip to main content

Win One of Three Audiobooks in our Special Contest: Get Listening with Your Book Group!

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, November 2nd at noon ET.

Jodi Picoult Delivers a Gripping Narrative on Privilege and Power in SMALL GREAT THINGS

An African-American nurse experiences racism at a critical moment. She must make an impossible choice and face the consequences.

Bestselling Author Robyn Carr Returns with a Funny, Poignant Novel of Love and Friendship

THE LIFE SHE WANTS is a moving story of two friends who confront their pasts in order to move toward their futures.

From the Bestselling Author of THE PARIS ARCHITECT Comes a Breathtaking Adventure

When his son racks up a huge gambling debt, an architect offers his services to a criminal mastermind --- at the risk of his life and reputation.

In COMMONWEALTH, Ann Patchett Spans Five Decades to Tell an Enthralling Story

Two families merge after a chance romantic encounter, and the children form a connection based on disillusionment and affection.

Win 12 Copies of MY NAME IS LUCY BARTON by Elizabeth Strout for Your Group

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, November 2nd at noon ET.

Featured Contests and Guides

Get Listening with Your Book Group!: A Very Special Contest is proud to be hosting a very special contest. We are giving away audiobooks to nine groups in total: three groups will win BEHOLD THE DREAMERS, written by Imbolo Mbue and read by Prentice Onayemi; three will win SMALL GREAT THINGS, written by Jodi Picoult and read by Audra McDonald (with Cassandra Campbell and Ari Fliakos); and three will win THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, written by Colson Whitehead and read by Bahni Turpin. To enter, please fill out this form by Wednesday, November 2nd at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the audiobooks and enter the contest.

» Click here to read more on “Why Listen to Audio for Your Book Group Discussion” from Penguin Random House.

» Click here to visit the Penguin Random House Audio website to see more suggestions for listening and how to discuss an audiobook with your book group.


by Jodi Picoult

Ruth Jefferson is a labor and delivery nurse at a Connecticut hospital with more than 20 years’ experience. During her shift, Ruth begins a routine checkup on a newborn, only to be told a few minutes later that she’s been reassigned to another patient. The parents are white supremacists and don’t want Ruth, who is African American, to touch their child. The hospital complies with their request, but the next day, the baby goes into cardiac distress while Ruth is alone in the nursery. Does she obey orders, or does she intervene? Ruth hesitates before performing CPR and, as a result, is charged with a serious crime.
» Click here for the featured guide.


by Robyn Carr

In the aftermath of her financier husband’s suicide, Emma Shay Compton’s dream life is shattered. She bears the burden of Richard's crimes and is left with nothing. When a friend encourages her to come home to Sonoma County, Emma must decide if she can face Riley Kerrigan, her ex-best friend. It turns out she can’t escape her husband’s reputation and is forced to turn to the last person she thought she’d ever ask for help --- Riley. It’s an uneasy reunion as both women face the mistakes they’ve made over the years. Only if they find a way to forgive each other --- and themselves --- can each of them find the life she wants.
» Click here for the featured guide.


by Charles Belfoure

In 1886 New York, a respectable architect shouldn't have any connection to the notorious gang of thieves and killers that rules the underbelly of the city. When John Cross' son racks up an unfathomable gambling debt to Kent's Gents, Cross must pay it back himself. All he has to do is use his inside knowledge of high society mansions and museums to craft a robbery even the smartest detectives won't solve. But Cross' entire life has become a balancing act, and it will only take one mistake for it all to come crashing down --- and for his family to go down too.
» Click here for the featured guide.


by Sherryl Woods

For 10 years, Emily Dobbs and Marcie Carter have been the closest of friends. They've raised their kids together, shared joy and heartache, and exchanged neighborhood gossip over tea. But when Marcie's son, now a college freshman sports star, is arrested for date rape, the bond between the families could be shattered forever. As the Carters try to deal with the unthinkable, Emily discovers her daughter has been hiding a terrible secret…a secret that threatens the futures of both families. Recently divorced, Emily struggles to keep it all together --- to support her terrified daughter, to maintain her friendship with Evan's mother, and to have faith in the detective who could change all of their lives.
» Click here for the featured guide.


by Grady Hendrix

Abby and Gretchen have been best friends since fourth grade. Through the years, they have bonded over E.T., roller-skating and a shared love for pop music. But when they arrive at high school, things change. Gretchen begins to act…different. As the strange coincidences and bizarre behavior start to pile up, Abby realizes there’s only one possible explanation: Gretchen, her favorite person in the world, has a demon living inside her. With help from some unlikely allies, Abby embarks on a quest to save Gretchen. But is their friendship powerful enough to beat the devil?
» Click here for the featured guide.

New Guides

By Gaslight by Steven Price - Historical Mystery

A historical suspense novel, centered on the relationship of William Pinkerton --- the greatest detective of his age --- and Adam Foole, a thief whose past is inextricably linked with Pinkerton’s own. 

In this illuminating and deeply moving memoir, a former American military intelligence officer goes beyond traditional Cold War espionage tales to tell the true story of her family --- of five women separated by the Iron Curtain for more than 40 years, and their miraculous reunion after the fall of the Berlin Wall.

International sensation Santa Montefiore presents the first book in a trilogy that follows three Irish women through the decades of the 20th century --- perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Hazel Gaynor.

House of Thieves by Charles Belfoure - Historical Fiction

“Rockets along at full-speed from one breathtaking scene to the next. I couldn’t put HOUSE OF THIEVES down.” (Alex Grecian, national bestselling author of THE YARD and HARVEST MAN)

From the author of SIT! STAY! SPEAK! comes a tender, terrific novel complete with long-buried secrets, a three-legged pot belly pig, and an irresistible dog --- an unforgettable story about love, friendship and community. 

#1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr brings together a poignant novel with a rich tapestry of characters. A moving story that will leave the reader laughing and crying, as two friends confront their pasts and move towards their futures.

Revisit bestselling author Sherryl Woods’ 2007 MENDING FENCES, the riveting, ripped-from-the-headlines story about how a rape accusation threatens to shatter the bond between two families. 

“If The Exorcist had been authored by Tina Fey instead of William Peter Blatty, it might have borne an uncanny resemblance to what Grady Hendrix has accomplished with MY BEST FRIEND’S EXORCISM.... Fans of satire, nostalgia, dark comedy and, well, demons should read this book.” (BookPage)

A simple hospital visit illuminates the tender relationship between mother and daughter in this extraordinary novel by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of OLIVE KITTERIDGE and THE BURGESS BOYS.

News of the World by Paulette Jiles - Historical Fiction

In NEWS OF THE WORLD by Paulette Jiles, author of ENEMY WOMEN, a travelling newsreader goes on a treacherous journey through 1870’s Texas to return a child captured by the Kiowa to her distant family. Longlisted for the National Book Award–Fiction.

From beloved New York Times bestselling author Joshilyn Jackson, THE OPPOSITE OF EVERYONE is a story about story itself, how the tales we tell connect us, break us, and define us, and how the endings and beginnings we choose can destroy us…and make us whole. 

For fans of J. Courtney Sullivan, Meg Wolitzer, Claire Messud and Emma Straub, a gorgeous and absorbing novel of a trio of confused souls struggling to find themselves and the way forward in their lives, set against the spectacular backdrop of contemporary New York City.

Anne-Marie Slaughter offers her vision for what true equality between men and women really means, and how we can get there.

Yesternight by Cat Winters - Historical Thriller

From the author of THE UNINVITED comes a haunting historical novel with a compelling mystery at its core: A young child psychologist steps off a train in a foggy seaside town and begins a journey that will cause her to question everything she believes about life, death, memories and reincarnation.