ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

From the Award-Winning Author of THE HALFWAY HOUSE, a Wise, Heartfelt Novel

Claire must reconcile her unorthodox upbringing with the demands of her family --- and decide what she's willing to sacrifice for independence.

A Poignant Breakout Novel for Fans of J. Courtney Sullivan and Elin Hilderbrand

A single mother who inherits a beautiful beach house with a caveat: She must take care of the ornery elderly woman who lives in it.

Jodi Picoult Delivers a Gripping Narrative on Privilege and Power in SMALL GREAT THINGS

An African-American nurse experiences racism at a critical moment. She must make an impossible choice and face the consequences.

Join Our Book Group Checkup and Get Your Group Back on Track

No time like the present to evaluate your group! We provide questions to get you started and share feedback from our readers.

A LOWCOUNTRY HEART Collects Pat Conroy's Final Words and Heartfelt Remembrances

This new volume brings together some of the most charming interviews, magazine articles, speeches and letters from Conroy's long literary career.

Win 12 Copies of THE BOOK THAT MATTERS MOST by Ann Hood for Your Group

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, January 4th at noon ET.

Featured Contests and Guides

Join ReadingGroupGuides.com's Ongoing Book Group Checkup

This month at ReadingGroupGuides.com, we're particularly interested in the dynamics of your book group. We know that --- for longterm groups especially --- it can be hard to evaluate how your group is doing and get back on track. That's why we think groups will benefit from a Book Group Checkup: It gives your group an opportunity to do a self-check to be sure its goals are still being met. We've been asking readers to share some thoughts and tips for optimizing meetings, which you can check out, and share your own as well.

» Click here for our Book Group Checkup questions, and to see feedback from other readers.
 



THE GOLDEN SON
by Shilpi Somaya Gowda

Anil Patel, the golden son, carries the weight of tradition and his family’s expectations when he leaves his tiny Indian village to begin a medical residency in Dallas, Texas. When his father dies, however, Anil becomes the de facto head of the Patel household and inherits the mantle of arbiter for all of the village’s disputes. Back home in India, Anil’s closest childhood friend, Leena, has trouble adapting to her demanding new husband and relatives. Though Anil and Leena struggle to come to terms with their identities thousands of miles apart, their lives eventually intersect once more --- changing them both and the people they love forever.

» Click here for the featured guide.
 

New Guides

An enthralling novel about love, loss, secrets, friendship and the healing power of literature, by the bestselling author of THE KNITTING CIRCLE.

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of SECRET DAUGHTER returns with an unforgettable story of family, responsibility, love, honor, tradition and identity, in which two childhood friends --- a young doctor and a newly married bride --- must balance the expectations of their culture and their families with the desires of their own hearts.

The untold true story of the African-American female mathematicians at NASA who provided the calculations that helped fuel some of America’s greatest achievements in space.

In this absorbing new entry in the acclaimed New York Times bestselling series, Scotland Yard’s Ian Rutledge is caught up in a twisted web of vengeance and murder.

The Other Widow by Susan Crawford - Psychological Thriller

The author of THE POCKET WIFE explores the dark side of love, marriage and infidelity in this sizzling novel of psychological suspense.

The winner of the 2016 Man Booker Prize, THE SELLOUT is a biting, comic novel of a young black man's psychological upbringing and journey to the Supreme Court, satirizing race relations in the 21st century. 

Shūsaku Endō's classic novel of enduring faith in dangerous times, soon to be a major motion picture directed by Martin Scorsese, starring Andrew Garfield, Liam Neeson and Adam Driver.

The New York Times bestselling author of LABOR DAY and AFTER HER returns with a poignant story about the true meaning --- and the true price --- of friendship.