ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Featured Contests and Guides

MARRIED SEX: A Love Story
by Jesse Kornbluth

We are celebrating the release of Jesse Kornbluth's MARRIED SEX --- a sharply observed erotic tale about the challenges of modern marriage --- by giving three groups the chance to win 12 copies of the book. We're also giving away 25 single copies. We ask that all winners be available to submit comments on the book by the selected deadline. The deadline for entries is Monday, September 28th at noon ET.

» Click here to enter the contest.
 

NATCHEZ BURNING
by Greg Iles

We are celebrating the release of #1 New York Times bestselling author Greg IlesNATCHEZ BURNING --- the first installment in an epic trilogy featuring southern mayor and former prosecutor Penn Cage --- by giving 10 groups the chance to win 10 copies of the book. The deadline for entries is Wednesday, September 9th at noon ET.

» Click here to enter the contest.
 

AFTER THE WIND
by Lou Kasischke

In anticipation the September release of the film Everest, we're giving 10 groups the chance to win 10 copies of AFTER THE WINDLou Kasischke's harrowing memoir about the events that led up to what was the worst tragedy in Mount Everest's history. We will also be giving away single copies to 25 additional readers. We ask that winners be available to read the book in either September, October or November in order to share comments on it. The deadline for entries is Wednesday, September 9th at noon ET.

» Click here to enter the contest.

 

THE WOMAN IN THE PHOTOGRAPH
by Dana Gynther

We are celebrating the release of THE WOMAN IN THE PHOTOGRAPH --- Dana Gynther's richly drawn, tempestuous novel about a talented and fearless young woman caught up in one of the most fascinating times of the 20th century --- by giving away 10 copies of the book. The deadline for entries is Wednesday, September 9th at noon ET.
 
» Click here to enter the contest.

 

THE GUILTY ONE
by Sophie Littlefield

We are celebrating the release of Sophie Littlefield's THE GUILTY ONE --- the riveting story of a woman who holds the fate of the father of her daughter's murderer in her hands --- by giving away 10 copies of the book. The deadline for entries is Wednesday, September 9th at noon ET.

» Click here to enter the contest.
 



ORPHAN #8
by Kim van Alkemade

Rachel Rabinowitz is confronted with her dark past when she becomes a nurse at Manhattan’s Old Hebrews Home and her patient is none other than the elderly, cancer-stricken Dr. Mildred Solomon, who subjected her to X-ray treatments that left her disfigured as a child. Rachel becomes obsessed with making Dr. Solomon acknowledge, and pay for, her wrongdoing. But each passing hour Rachel spends with the old doctor reveals to Rachel the complexities of her own nature.


» Click here for the featured guide.
 

GOLDEN EARRINGS
by Belinda Alexandra

Paloma Batton is the granddaughter of Spanish refugees who fled Barcelona after the Civil War, who lets little get in the way of her career...until she receives a mysterious pair of golden earrings. She begins exploring her Spanish heritage and becomes fascinated by la Rusa, a woman who rose from poverty to become one of the great flamenco dancers of modern times before committing suicide. As Paloma begins to unravel the secrets of the past, she discovers more than one person who had good reason for wanting la Rusa dead --- including Paloma’s own grandmother.

» Click here for the featured guide.

New Guides

Lou Kasischke tells the harrowing story of what went wrong on May 10, 1996 --- when eight climbers died near the top of Mount Everest in what was the worst tragedy in the mountain's history --- and how, by a miracle of love, he managed to survive.

BIG LITTLE LIES is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

A vibrant debut novel, set in Brooklyn and Bangladesh, follows three young women and one family struggling to make peace with secrets and their past.

It has been years since Elizabeth “Betts” McGee has returned to her once-adored Bulls Island in the Carolina lowcountry...will her estranged family welcome her with open arms?

Dissatisfied with her insufferable family, 93-year-old matriarch Theodora pines wistfully for those extravagant, homey Christmases of her childhood --- and this year, someone very special will arrive at her door with pockets full of Gullah magic and enough common sense to transform this Christmas into the miracle it's truly meant to be.
Flood of Fire by Amitav Ghosh - Historical Fiction

FLOOD OF FIRE, an epic and sweeping story, is a richly populated novel, imbued with a wealth of historical detail, suffused with the magic of place, and plotted with verve. It is a beautiful novel.

Footprints in the Desert by Maha Akhtar - Historical Fiction

The tale from the time of Lawrence of Arabia that you haven't read --- this thrilling work of historical fiction set during the fall of the Ottoman Empire tells the story of a circle of friends whose lives and loves become entangled in the crusade for freedom.

The rich atmosphere of South Carolina, Hilton Head and Charleston, is brought vividly to life by Dorothea Benton Frank, a South Carolina native who, with her exquisitely evocative prose, makes you smell the sea air, see the palmettos and savor the sweet tea --- but this time it comes with a side of antipasti.

Originally written in the mid-1950s, GO SET A WATCHMAN picks up 20 years after the events of TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD, as Jean Louise Finch --- Scout --- returns home to Maycomb to visit her father and struggles with issues both personal and political, involving Atticus, society, and the small Alabama town that shaped her.

Golden Earrings by Belinda Alexandra - Historical Romance

For fans of Colleen McCullough, Kate Morton, and Lucinda Riley, a powerful saga of family, love, honor and betrayal set in historical Barcelona and romantic Paris, from the author of TUSCAN ROSE.

The Guilty One by Sophie Littlefield - Psychological Suspense

Edgar-nominated Sophie Littlefield (author of the critically acclaimed THE MISSING PLACE) writes suspenseful women's fiction sure to appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty or Gillian Flynn.

In the vein of Meg Donohue and Jennifer Close, comes Cecilia Galante’s adult debut about the complicated and powerful bonds of female friendship --- a compelling, moving novel that is told in both the present and the past.

A despicable ex-husband, a troublesome new tenant and an overwhelming new love interest are almost too much for one Manhattan quasi-socialite to handle --- so Miriam's escaping to the enchanted and mysterious land of Sullivans Island, deep in the low country of South Carolina, a place where she can finally get her head on straight.

When a husband convinces his wife to join him in a tryst with another woman, there are unintended consequences in this sharply observed erotic tale about the challenges of modern marriage.

Miss Emily by Nuala O'Connor - Historical Fiction

Nuala O’Connor’s enchanting American debut novel, MISS EMILY, reimagines the private life of Emily Dickinson, one of America’s most beloved poets, through her own voice and through the eyes of her family’s Irish maid.

#1 New York Times bestselling author Greg Iles returns with this highly anticipated first novel in five years and auspicious start of a trilogy featuring Penn Cage.

Orphan #8 by Kim van Alkemade - Historical Fiction

A stunning debut novel in the vein of Sarah Waters’ historical fiction and inspired by true events, ORPHAN #8 tells the fascinating story of a woman who must choose between revenge and mercy when she encounters the doctor who subjected her to dangerous medical experiments in a New York City Jewish orphanage.

A horrific explosion at a gunpowder mill sends Bess Crawford to war-torn France to keep a deadly pattern of lies from leading to more deaths, in this compelling and atmospheric mystery from the New York Times bestselling author of A QUESTION OF HONOR and AN UNWILLING ACCOMPLICE.

Brimming with wisdom, rich in meaningful insights, A REMARKABLE KINDNESS is a moving testament to women’s friendship, illuminating a mostly unknown ritual that underscores what it means to truly be alive.

In San Francisco, the souls of the dead are mysteriously disappearing, and to get to the bottom of this abomination, a motley crew of heroes will band together in New York Times bestselling author Christopher Moore’s delightfully funny sequel to A DIRTY JOB.

The Uninvited by Cat Winters - Historical Fiction

Set during the fear and panic of the Great Influenza of 1918, THE UNINVITED is a masterfully crafted story of love, loss and second chances --- part gothic ghost-story, part psychological thriller --- and perfect for those who loved THE THIRTEENTH TALE by Diane Setterfield or THE VANISHING by Wendy Webb.