ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Win a Copy of EUPHORIA by Critically Acclaimed Author Lily King

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, June 3rd at noon ET.

From Bestselling Author Deeanne Gist Comes the Compelling Story of Flossie Jayne

The historical story about the girl behind Tiffany’s chapel --- and the love that threatens it all.

Alan Cumming Explores His Family’s Dark Secrets in NOT MY FATHER’S SON

When the actor joined a genealogy show to learn about his grandfather, he had no idea that his father would show up with a huge secret.

A Brand New Kind of Modern Romantic Comedy...Both in Form and Content

The story of boy meets girl, as told through a series of confounding and funny exchanges with each other and with their best friends.

Jamie Brickhouse’s Memoir Reveals a Life of Alcoholism and a Unique Mother-Son Bond

DANGEROUS WHEN WET recounts how Brickhouse fled his mother for a life of glamour in New York --- and learned he needed her more than ever.

Enter to Win 12 Copies of THE HURRICANE SISTERS by Dorothea Benton Frank for Your Group

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, June 3rd at noon ET.

Featured Contests and Guides

Win a Copy of EUPHORIA by Lily King 

We are celebrating the release of critically acclaimed author Lily King's EUPHORIA --- an enthralling story of passion, possession, exploration and sacrifice, inspired by the life of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead --- by giving 25 readers a chance to win a copy of the book. To enter, please fill out this form by Wednesday, June 3rd at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the book and enter the contest.
 



THE MOUNTAINTOP SCHOOL FOR DOGS AND OTHER SECOND CHANCES

by Ellen Cooney

Ellen Cooney’s latest novel is the story of two women and a whole pack of dogs who, having lost their way in the world, find a place at a training school --- and radical rescue center --- called the Sanctuary. It is a story of strays and rescues, kidnappings and homecomings, moving on, holding on and letting go. And it is, ultimately, a moving and hilarious chronicle of the ways in which humans and canines help each other find new lives, new selves and new hope.
 
Now in paperback!

» Click here for the featured guide.


THE CANTERBURY SISTERS

by Kim Wright

Not only has Che Milan’s longtime lover abruptly dumped her, but her eccentric, demanding mother has recently died. When an urn of ashes arrives, along with a note reminding Che of a half-forgotten promise to take her mother to Canterbury, Che finds herself reluctantly undertaking a pilgrimage. Within days she joins a group of women who are walking the 60 miles from London to the shrine of Becket in Canterbury Cathedral, reputed to be the site of miracles. The women swap stories as they walk, each vying to see who can best describe true love.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

THE GLASS KITCHEN
by Linda Francis Lee

After a string of betrayals and the loss of her legacy, Portia Cuthcart is determined to start a new life with her sisters in Manhattan…and never cook again. But when Portia moves into a dilapidated brownstone on the Upper West Side, she meets 12-year-old Ariel and her widowed father, Gabriel. Soon, a promise made to her sisters forces Portia back into a world of magical food and swirling emotions, where she must confront everything she has been running from..

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

TIFFANY GIRL
by Deeanne Gist

As preparations for the 1893 World’s Fair set Chicago and the nation on fire, Louis Tiffany seizes the opportunity to unveil his state-of-the-art, stained glass, mosaic chapel. But when his dream is threatened by a glassworkers’ strike months before the Fair opens, he turns to the female students at the Art Students League of New York. Eager for adventure, the young women move to boarding houses and assume new identities as the “Tiffany Girls.” Flossie Jayne, a beautiful, budding artist, is handpicked by Louis to help complete the Tiffany chapel.

» Click here for the featured guide.


NOT MY FATHER'S SON: A Memoir

by Alan Cumming

Acclaimed stage, television and film actor Alan Cumming shares the story of his complicated relationship with his emotionally and physically abusive father and the deeply buried family secrets that shaped his life and career. He integrates stories from his childhood with those detailing his experiences as a successful actor today in a memoir that is suspenseful, deeply moving and wickedly funny.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

THE ART OF BAKING BLIND
by Sarah Vaughan

In 1966, Kathleen Eaden, cookbook writer and wife of a supermarket magnate, published The Art of Baking, her guide to nurturing a family by creating the most exquisite pastries, biscuits and cakes. Now, five amateur bakers are competing to become the New Mrs. Eaden.  As unlikely alliances are forged and secrets rise to the surface, making the choicest pastry seems the least of the contestants' problems. For they will learn --- just as Mrs. Eaden did before them --- that while perfection is possible in the kitchen, it's very much harder in life.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

READ BOTTOM UP
by Neel Shah and Skye Chatham

Madeline and Elliot meet at a New York City food event. Flirtation, online, ensues. A romance, potentially eternal, possibly doomed, begins. And, like most things in life today, their early exchanges are very public, available to be scrutinized and interpreted by well-intentioned friends (a.k.a. amateur love doctors) who are a mere click away. Madeline and Elliot’s relationship unfolds through a series of thrilling, confounding and funny exchanges with each other and with their best friends. The result is a brand new kind of modern romantic comedy, both in format and in content. 

» Click here for the featured guide.

New Guides

The Anchoress by Robyn Cadwallader - Historical Fiction

What could drive a girl on the cusp of womanhood to lock herself away from the world forever?

A delicious and heartfelt debut in which five amateur bakers compete in a baking competition only to discover that the recipe for happiness may not be so easy to follow.

When movie location scout Greer Hennessy zeroes in on a sleepy Florida panhandle town, its mayor and born-again environmentalist Eben Thibadeaux will do whatever he can to protect it --- if he can resist his growing attraction to Greer.

In the vein of Jojo Moyes and Cheryl Strayed’s WILD, a warm and touching novel about a woman who embarks on a pilgrimage to Canterbury Cathedral after losing her mother, sharing life lessons --- in the best Chaucer tradition --- with eight other women along the way.

Bitingly funny, raw and insightful, DANGEROUS WHEN WET is the unforgettable story of a unique relationship between a son and his mother.

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author and master of narrative nonfiction Erik Larson comes the enthralling story of the sinking of the Lusitania.

Disclaimer by Renée Knight - Psychological Thriller

DISCLAIMER is a brilliantly conceived, deeply disturbing psychological thriller about a woman haunted by secrets --- and the price she will pay for concealing the truth.

Euphoria by Lily King - Historical Fiction

Set between two world wars and inspired by events in the life of revolutionary anthropologist Margaret Mead, EUPHORIA is an enthralling story of passion, possession, exploration and sacrifice from accomplished author Lily King.

The author of the acclaimed INDISCRETION returns with a searing tale of love, passion and obsession --- the story of one man’s all-consuming desire for a beautiful, bewitching and elusive woman.

Three sisters move from Texas to New York City to open a restaurant in this novel about food, family and finding true love from the author of EMILY AND EINSTEIN.

Filled with her trademark wit, sassy, heartwarming characters and the steamy Southern atmosphere and beauty of her beloved Carolina Lowcountry, THE HURRICANE SISTERS is New York Times bestselling author Dorothea Benton Frank’s enchanting tale of the ties and lies between generations.

This unforgettable debut novel asks us to look up from our screens and out at the world…and to imagine what life would be like with no searches, no status updates, no texts, no Tweets, no pins and no posts.

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Mary McNear takes us home to Butternut Lake, where the townspeople are sure to look after anyone they consider their own…

A novel of a young woman who, despite knowing nothing about animals, signs herself up for dog training school at the Sanctuary, where she discovers that rescue can find even the most hopeless among us and that friends come in all shapes, sizes and breeds.

In his unique and engaging voice, the acclaimed actor of stage and screen shares the emotional story of his complicated relationship with his father and the deeply buried family secrets that shaped his life and career.

From the author of THE GIRL BELOW, “a fantastic writer” (Curtis Sittenfeld), comes a new novel about fate, love, hippies and punk rock.

A charming novel about falling in love --- or like --- in the digital age.

Set between privileged lifestyles and gritty realities, SCENT OF TRIUMPH by commanding newcomer Jan Moran is one woman's story of courage, spirit and resilience.

Tiffany Girl by Deeanne Gist - Historical Fiction

From the bestselling author of IT HAPPENED AT THE FAIR and FAIR PLAY comes a compelling historical novel about a progressive “New Woman,” Flossie Jayne, the girl behind Tiffany’s chapel and the love that threatens it all.

From the USA Today bestselling author of WHEN WE WERE STRANGERS and SWIMMING IN THE MOON comes a lush, exquisitely drawn novel set against the turmoil of the Great War, as a young German-American woman explores the secrets of her past.