ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Featured Contests and Guides

Win 10 Copies of BEING MORTAL by Atul Gawande for Your Group

We are celebrating the #1 New York Times bestselling BEING MORTAL --- doctor Atul Gawande's meditation on death, modern medicine and what matters most in the end --- with a special contest that will give 35 groups the chance to win 10 copies. To enter, please fill out this form by Wednesday, February 8th at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the book and enter the contest.

 

Win 10 Copies of PACHINKO by Min Jin Lee for Your Group

We are celebrating the February 7th release of bestselling author Min Jin Lee's PACHINKO --- a sweeping saga that follows one Korean family in exile from its homeland through generations of desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs --- with a special contest that will give 10 groups the chance to win 10 copies. To enter, please fill out this form by Wednesday, February 8th at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the book and enter the contest.

 

Win 10 Copies of THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel for Your Group

We are celebrating the January 24th release of Laurie Frankel's THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS --- a novel about revelations, transformations, fairy tales and family --- with a special contest that will give 10 groups the chance to win 10 copies. To enter, please fill out this form by Wednesday, February 8th at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the book and enter the contest.

 

Win a Copy of THE TUMBLING TURNER SISTERS by Juliette Fay

We are celebrating the paperback release of award-winning author Juliette Fay's THE TUMBLING TURNER SISTERS --- a heartwarming historical novel, set amidst the  backdrop of 1920s American Vaudeville, about the four Turner sisters and the "last chance act" that will save their family --- with a special contest that will give 10 readers the chance to win a copy of the book. To enter, please fill out this form by Wednesday, February 8th at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the book and enter the contest.

 

Share Your Favorite Book Group Titles of 2016

This is the time of year when everyone is posting “Best Books of the Year” lists. We would like you and your book group to help us compile ours! Share both your favorite book that you read with your group this year and your favorite book that you read outside your group by Tuesday, January 31st at noon ET and you will be eligible to win SIX fantastic titles: A PIECE OF THE WORLD by Christina Baker Kline, THE HOPE CHEST by Viola Shipman, THE TEA GIRL OF HUMMINGBIRD LANE by Lisa See, THE WOMEN IN THE CASTLE by Jessica Shattuck, MUSIC OF THE GHOSTS by Vaddey Ratner and THE CHILBURY LADIES' CHOIR by Jennifer Ryan. 

Please note: Your favorite book you discussed with your group CAN be the same as your favorite book of the year! They don't have to have been published in 2016. And please be careful with the spelling of book titles and authors’ first and last names to save us editing time.

» Click here to let us know YOUR favorite book group titles of 2016.
 



THE THINGS WE KEEP
by Sally Hepworth

Anna Forster, in the early stages of Alzheimer's disease at only 38 years old, resides in Rosalind House, an assisted living facility. There, she meets fellow resident Luke, and a relationship develops between the two. When Eve Bennett is suddenly thrust into the role of single mother, she finds herself putting her culinary training to use at Rosalind House. When she meets Anna and Luke, she is moved by the bond the pair has forged. But when a tragic incident leads Anna's and Luke's families to separate them, Eve finds herself questioning what she is willing to risk to help them.
 
Now available in paperback.
 
Look out for Sally Hepworth's forthcoming novel, THE MOTHER'S PROMISE, in stores February 21st.

» Click here for the featured guide.
 
 

A CERTAIN AGE
by Beatriz Williams

As the freedom of the Jazz Age transforms New York City, the iridescent Mrs. Theresa Marshall has done the unthinkable: she’s fallen in love with her young paramour, Captain Octavian Rofrano, a handsome aviator and hero of the Great War. While times are changing and she does adore the Boy, divorce for a woman of Theresa’s wealth and social standing is out of the question, and there is no need; she has an understanding with Sylvo, her generous and well-respected philanderer husband. But their relationship subtly shifts when her bachelor brother, Ox, decides to tie the knot with the sweet younger daughter of a newly wealthy inventor.

Now available in paperback.

» Click here for the featured guide.
 

New Guides

In the New York Times #1 bestseller BEING MORTAL, Atul Gawande tackles the hardest challenge of his profession: how medicine can not only improve life but also the process of its ending.

Books for Living by Will Schwalbe - Memoir/Literature

From the author of the New York Times bestseller, THE END OF YOUR LIFE BOOK CLUB, an inspiring and magical celebration of books and reading, rich with stories and recommendations of specific books that can help guide us through our lives.

A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams - Historical Fiction

New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams brings the Roaring Twenties brilliantly to life in an enchanting and compulsively readable tale of intrigue, romance and scandal in Gatsby’s New York.

Dragon Springs Road by Janie Chang - Historical Fiction

From the author of THREE SOULS comes a vividly imagined and haunting new novel set in early 20th-century Shanghai --- a story of friendship, heartbreak and history that follows a young Eurasian orphan’s search for her long-lost mother.

Pachinko by Min Jin Lee - Fiction

A new tour de force from the bestselling author of FREE FOOD FOR MILLIONAIRES, for readers of A FINE BALANCE and CUTTING FOR STONE.   

THE PRIZE by New York Times bestselling author Jill Bialosky is an unflinching portrait of a marriage struggling against the corroding tide of time and the proximity to the treacherous fault line between art and money. 

A novel about the power of love to grow and endure even when faced with the most devastating of obstacles.

THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS is a novel about how it always is: Change is always hard and miraculous and hard again, parenting is always a leap into the unknown with crossed fingers and full hearts, children grow but not always according to plan…and families with secrets don’t get to keep them forever.

Transit by Rachel Cusk - Fiction

The stunning second novel of a trilogy that began with OUTLINE, one of The New York Times Book Review’s 10 best books of 2015. TRANSIT can be read as a stand-alone novel, or as part of the trilogy. 

Now in trade paperback, THE TUMBLING TURNER SISTERS by Juliette Fay is a careening, heartwarming historical novel "filled with energetic prose and colorful characters" (Christina Baker Kline) set amidst the tumultuous and thrilling backdrop of 1920s American Vaudeville, featuring the four Turner sisters and the 'last chance act' that will save their family --- or seal their fates forever.