ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Two Women are on a Precarious Journey to Uncover Their True Selves

With EVERY WILD HEART, USA Today bestselling author Meg Donohue has written a mystery, a love story and a mother-daughter tale.

A Famous Painting and Little-Known History Come to Life in Christina Baker Kline’s Novel

A PIECE OF THE WORLD explores the relationship between Christina Olson and Andrew Wyeth, which led to a mysterious and iconic painting.

ALL SUMMER LONG Follows the Travels of One Couple Through a Tumultuous Summer

A southern gentleman returns home to lead a more peaceful life, but his New Yorker wife is not quite sure she is ready to make the transition.

Margaret George Explores Emperor Nero's Journey from Innocent to Ruthless

THE CONFESSIONS OF YOUNG NERO takes readers behind the scenes of one of history’s most notorious and misunderstood figures.

Featured Contests and Guides

Win 12 Copies of LILAC GIRLS by Martha Hall Kelly for Your Group

Based on a true story of a New York socialite who championed a group of concentration camp survivors known as the Rabbits, LILAC GIRLS, Martha Hall Kelly's acclaimed debut novel, reveals a story of love, redemption and terrible secrets that were hidden for decades. We are celebrating its recent paperback release by giving three groups the chance to win 12 copies of the book. The deadline for entries is Thursday, April 6th at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the book and enter the contest.
 

EVERY WILD HEART by Meg Donohue

When radio personality Gail Gideon’s husband announced that he wanted a divorce, her ensuing on-air rant propelled her local radio show into the national spotlight. But fame comes at a price. After all, what does a woman who has staked her career on being single do when she finds herself falling in love? And is the person who is harassing her a misguided fan or a true danger to Gail and her daughter, Nic? Plagued by a fear of social situations, 14-year-old Nic is most comfortable at the stable where she spends her afternoons. But when a riding accident lands Nic in the hospital, she awakens from her coma changed. She suddenly has no fear at all, and her disconcerting behavior lands her in one risky situation after another.

» Click here for the featured guide.
 

A PIECE OF THE WORLD by Christina Baker Kline

To Christina Olson, the entire world was her family’s remote farm in the small coastal town of Cushing, Maine. Born in the home her family had lived in for generations, and increasingly incapacitated by illness, Christina seemed destined for a small life. Instead, for more than 20 years, she was host and inspiration for the artist Andrew Wyeth, and became the subject of one of the best known American paintings of the 20th century.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

ALL SUMMER LONG by Dorothea Benton Frank

ALL SUMMER LONG is the story of how plans evolve and lives change in unexpected ways, how even those who have everything are still looking for something more. Dorothea Benton Frank’s latest novel asks the ultimate question: Can money buy happiness? From Sullivans Island to Necker Island to Nantucket to the beaches of Southern Spain, readers will come to recognize the many faces of true love, love that deepens and endures but only because one woman makes a tremendous leap of faith. And that leap changes everything.

» Click here for the featured guide.
 

New Guides

The New York Times bestselling and legendary author of HELEN OF TROY and ELIZABETH I now turns her gaze on Emperor Nero, one of the most notorious and misunderstood figures in history.

From USA Today bestselling author Meg Donohue comes a mystery, a love story, and a mother-daughter tale about two women on a precarious journey to uncover their true selves.

The Girl Before by JP Delaney - Psychological Thriller

In the tradition of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, THE SILENT WIFE and GONE GIRL comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death and deception.

The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins - Historical Fantasy

What became of magic in the world? Who needed to do away with it, and for what reasons? Drawing on myth, legend, fairy tales and Biblical mysteries, THE LAST DAYS OF MAGIC brilliantly imagines answers to these questions, sweeping us back to a world where humans and magical beings co-exist as they had for centuries.

Lover by Anna Raverat - Fiction

You can learn a lot about a husband by reading his email --- sometimes, too much. LOVER, the British writer Anna Raverat’s U.S. debut, is an observation of love, work and life as seen through the lens of a troubled marriage.

A modern-day expansion of Hans Christian Andersen’s THE LITTLE MERMAID, this unforgettable debut novel weaves a spellbinding tale of magic and the power of love as a descendent of the original mermaid fights the terrible price of saving herself from a curse that has affected generations of women in her family.

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the smash bestseller ORPHAN TRAIN comes a stunning and atmospheric novel of friendship, passion and art, inspired by Andrew Wyeth’s mysterious and iconic painting Christina’s World.

THIS CLOSE TO HAPPY is the rare, vividly personal account of what it feels like to suffer from clinical depression, written from a woman’s perspective and informed by an acute understanding of the implications of this disease over a lifetime.