ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Win a Copy of JUMP CUT: An Ellie Foreman Mystery by Libby Fischer Hellmann

The deadline for entries is Wednesday, March 9th at noon ET.

A Sweeping Historical Novel About Love, Friendship and Freedom

A trio of outsiders find themselves surrounded by the escalating horrors of President Andrew Jackson’s Indian Removal Act.

The Epic World War II Drama From Bestselling Author Kristin Hannah

Now celebrating a year on the New York Times bestseller list!

A Breathtaking New Novel From the Bestselling Author of THE HOUSE AT TYNEFORD

A love triangle, family obligations and the rediscovery of joy in the face of grief, set against the alluring backdrop of an English country estate.

New Year, New Books on Screen!

Check out our latest roundup of the book-to-screen adaptations you can look forward to in the year ahead.

Featured Contests and Guides

Win a Copy of JUMP CUT: An Ellie Foreman Mystery by Libby Fischer Hellmann

We are celebrating the March 1st release of Libby Fischer Hellmann's JUMP CUT --- the exciting fifth installment in her award-winning Ellie Foreman Mystery Series --- by giving 50 readers the chance to win a copy of the book.

» Enter here by Wednesday, March 9th at noon ET.

Additionally, to spread the word and get this thriller into the hands of as many readers as possible, Libby will visit 50 book groups via Skype. Click here to find out how your group can enter for a chance to be one of the lucky 50!



AN UNDISTURBED PEACE 
by Mary Glickman

A trio of outsiders linked by unrequited and rekindled love, Abrahan Bento Sassaporta Naggar, Dark Water of the Mountains, and a black slave named Jacob find themselves surrounded by the escalating horrors of President Andrew Jackson’s Indian Removal Act. As the US government implements the appalling logistics of transporting the Native American tribes of the South to the western side of the Mississippi River, Abe tries desperately to intervene --- and Jacob and Dark Water fight for their lives.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

THE NIGHTINGALE
by Kristin Hannah 

With courage, grace and powerful insight, bestselling author Kristin Hannah captures the epic panorama of World War II and illuminates an intimate part of history seldom seen: the women’s war. THE NIGHTINGALE tells the stories of two sisters, separated by years and experience, by ideals, passion and circumstance, each embarking on her own dangerous path toward survival, love and freedom in German-occupied, war-torn France.

Now celebrating a year on the New York Times bestseller list!

» Click here for featured guide.

 

INSIDE THE O'BRIENS
by Lisa Genova

A devoted husband, proud father of four children in their 20s, and respected police officer, Joe O'Brien begins experiencing bouts of disorganized thinking, uncharacteristic temper outbursts, and strange, involuntary movements. He initially attributes these episodes to the stress of his job, but as these symptoms worsen, he agrees to see a neurologist and is handed a diagnosis that will change his and his family’s lives forever: Huntington’s disease.

Now available in paperback.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

THE SECRET WISDOM OF THE EARTH
by Christopher Scotton

The town of Medgar, Kentucky, is beset by a massive Mountaintop Removal operation that is blowing up the hills and back filling the hollows. Fourteen-year-old Kevin's grandfather and others in town attempt to rally the citizens against the “company” and its powerful owner to stop the plunder of their mountain heritage. When Kevin’s friend, Buzzy, witnesses the brutal murder of the opposition leader, a sequence is set in play that tests Buzzy and Kevin to their absolute limits in an epic struggle for survival in the Kentucky mountains.

Now available in paperback.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

THE SONG OF HARTGROVE HALL
by 
Natasha Solomons

New Year’s Eve, Dorset, England, 1946. Harry Fox-Talbot and his brothers have returned from World War II determined to save their once grand home from ruin. But the arrival of beautiful Jewish wartime singer Edie Rose tangles the threads of love and duty, and leads to a devastating betrayal. Fifty years later, now a celebrated composer, Fox reels from the death of his adored wife, Edie. Until his connection with his four-year old grandson --- a music prodigy --- propels him back into life, and ultimately to confront his past.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES
by 
Sally Hepworth

THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES tells the story of three generations of women devoted to delivering new life into the world --- and the secrets they keep. Neva, a third-generation midwife, is determined to keep the details surrounding her own pregnancy --- including the identity of the baby’s father --- hidden for as long as possible. Her mother, Grace, finds it impossible to let this secret rest. For Floss, Neva’s grandmother, Neva’s situation thrusts her back 60 years in time to a secret that eerily mirrors her granddaughter’s --- a secret that, if revealed, will change everything.
 
Now available in paperback.
 
» Click here for the featured guide.

New Guides

A gripping blend of psychological suspense and historical true crime, this riveting novel --- inspired by a sensational real-life murder from the 1800s --- by critically acclaimed author Emily Arsenault delivers a heart-stopping mystery linking two young mothers from different centuries.

The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of SECRET DAUGHTER returns with an unforgettable story of family, responsibility, love, honor, tradition and identity, in which two childhood friends --- a young doctor and a newly married bride --- must balance the expectations of their culture and their families with the desires of their own hearts.

The Heart Written by Maylis de Kerangal, translated by Sam Taylor - Fiction

An international bestseller --- THE HEART takes place over the 24 hours surrounding a fatal accident and a resulting heart transplant as life is taken from a young man and given to a woman close to death. 

Chicago video producer, Ellie Foreman, is back…and soon entangled in a web of espionage, murder and suspicion that threatens to destroy what she holds most dear.

Moonlight Over Paris by Jennifer Robson - Historical Fiction

An aristocratic young woman leaves the sheltered world of London to find adventure, passion and independence in 1920s Paris in this mesmerizing story from the USA Today and internationally bestselling author of SOMEWHERE IN FRANCE and AFTER THE WAR IS OVER.

The New York Times bestselling author of THE AVIATOR’S WIFE returns with a triumphant new novel about New York’s “Swans” of the 1950s --- and the scandalous, headline-making and enthralling friendship between literary legend Truman Capote and peerless socialite Babe Paley.

An Undisturbed Peace by Mary Glickman - Historical Fiction

A trio of outsiders linked by unrequited and rekindled love find themselves surrounded by the escalating horrors of President Andrew Jackson’s Indian Removal Act.

The Widow by Fiona Barton - Psychological Thriller

A loving husband or a heartless killer…she’d know, wouldn’t she? For fans of GONE GIRL and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN, an engrossing and thrilling debut novel of psychological suspense from a major new talent.