ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Based on the Life of George Eliot, THE HONEYMOON Explores Different Kinds of Love

This spellbinding novel recounts George Eliot’s honeymoon in 1880s Venice following her marriage to a handsome man 20 years her junior.

A Provocative and Hauntingly Powerful Debut Novel Reminiscent of SLIDING DOORS

When happily single Kitty Miller starts having dreams about her life as a married woman, she must figure out what is real and what is imagined.

A Remarkable Debut About a Woman's Discovery of the Things That Matter Most

When tragedy occurs, Charlotte finds herself with an impossible choice between her life-long dreams and the torn-apart family she's come to love.

The Bestselling Story of An Isolated Couple, an Orphaned Baby and an Impossible Choice

Soon to be a major motion picture --- see it in theaters September 2nd!

Check Out Fall Preview: Great Book Club Picks From BEA 2016 to Discuss This Fall

Our essential list of the best titles from some of the biggest names in publishing!

Featured Contests and Guides

THE SUMMER GUEST 
by Alison Anderson

What if Anton Chekhov, undisputed master of the short story, secretly wrote a novel --- a manuscript hidden long ago that might have survived? This tantalizing possibility drives THE SUMMER GUEST, a spellbinding story --- inspired by historical events --- in which a diary weaves together the lives of three women: a dying Ukranian doctor who befriends Anton Chekov in the 19th century, a modern-day London book editor, and the woman she hires to translate it into English.
 
» Click here for the featured guide.



THE LIGHT BETWEEN OCEANS
 
by M. L. Stedman

Tom Sherbourne takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on a remote and isolated island when a boat carrying a dead man and a living baby hit his shore. His wife, Isabel, has already suffered several miscarriages, and even though Tom’s conscience is telling him otherwise, they keep the little girl. Two years later, they return to the mainland and are reminded that there is someone out there desperate to find her lost baby.

Soon to be a major motion picture!

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN 
by Paula Hawkins

Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Their life --- as she sees it --- is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost. And then she sees something shocking. It’s only a minute until the train moves on, but it’s enough. Now everything has changed.

Now available in paperback.

Soon to be a major motion picture!

» Click here for the featured guide.

New Guides

The story of how plans evolve and lives change in unexpected ways, how even those who have everything are still looking for something more, Dorothea Benton Frank’s latest novel asks the ultimate question: Can money buy happiness?

For fans of Jojo Moyes and Jonathan Tropper, ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD is an unforgettable debut about a young woman's choice between the future she's always imagined and the people she's come to love.

The Bookseller by Cynthia Swanson - Historical Fiction

A provocative and hauntingly powerful debut novel reminiscent of SLIDING DOORS, THE BOOKSELLER follows a woman in the 1960s who must reconcile her reality with the tantalizing alternate world of her dreams.

A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams - Historical Fiction

The bestselling author of A HUNDRED SUMMERS brings the Roaring Twenties brilliantly to life in this enchanting and compulsively readable tale of intrigue, romance and scandal in New York Society, brimming with lush atmosphere, striking characters and irresistible charm.

The Daughters of the Bride invite you to the most emotional wedding of the year…their mother's. Susan Mallery's signature cocktail: love, laughter and family drama!

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins - Psychological Thriller

Compulsively readable, THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN is an emotionally immersive, Hitchcockian thriller, and an electrifying debut that will forever change the way you look at other people's lives.

The Honeymoon by Dinitia Smith - Historical Fiction

Based on the life of George Eliot, famed author of MIDDLEMARCH, this captivating account of Eliot’s passions and tribulations explores the nature of love in its many guises.

LaRose by Louise Erdrich - Fiction

In this literary masterwork, Louise Erdrich, the bestselling author of the National Book Award-winning THE ROUND HOUSE and the Pulitzer Prize nominee THE PLAGUE OF DOVES, wields her breathtaking narrative magic in an emotionally haunting contemporary tale of a tragic accident, a demand for justice, and a profound act of atonement with ancient roots in Native American culture.

The Light Between Oceans by M. L. Stedman - Historical Fiction

M. L. Stedman’s mesmerizing, beautifully written novel is a sweeping story about extraordinarily compelling characters seeking to find their North Star in a world where there is no right answer, where justice for one person is another’s tragic loss.

Night written by Elie Wiesel, translated by Marion Wiesel - Memoir

NIGHT is Elie Wiesel's masterpiece, a candid, horrific and deeply poignant autobiographical account of his survival as a teenager in the Nazi death camps.

The Summer Guest by Alison Anderson - Historical Fiction

The translator of THE ELEGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG, Alison Anderson, delivers a remarkable literary novel --- with a stunning conclusion --- inspired by historical events, in which a diary weaves together the lives of three women: a dying Ukranian doctor who befriends Anton Chekov in the 19th century, a modern-day London book editor, and the woman she hires to translate it into English.