ReadingGroupGuides.com |
Skip to main content

Featured Contests and Guides

Win 12 Copies of THE DEVIL AND WEBSTER by Jean Hanff Korelitz for Your Group

We are celebrating the release of THE DEVIL AND WEBSTER --- Jean Hanff Korelitz's new novel about a college president, a baffling student protest, and some of the most hot-button issues on today's college campuses --- with a special contest that will give three groups the chance to win 12 copies of the book. The deadline for entries is Tuesday, May 9th at noon ET.

» Click here to read more about the book and enter the contest.
 

THE TEA GIRL OF HUMMINGBIRD LANE by Lisa See

Li-yan and her family align their lives around the seasons and the farming of tea. There is ritual and routine, and it has been ever thus for generations. When Li-yan has a baby outside of wedlock, rather than stand by tradition, she wraps her daughter in a blanket and abandons her in the nearest city. While Li-yan slowly emerges from the insularity of her village to encounter modern life, her daughter Haley grows up a privileged and well-loved California girl. Despite Haley’s happy home life, she wonders about her origins, and Li-yan longs for her lost daughter. They both search for and find answers in the tea that has shaped their family’s destiny for generations.

» Click here for the featured guide.
 

THE FORBIDDEN GARDEN by Ellen Herrick

At the nursery she runs with her sisters on the New England coast, Sorrel Sparrow has honed her rare gift for nurturing plants and flowers. Now that reputation, and a stroke of good timing, lands Sorrel an unexpected opportunity: reviving a long-dormant Shakespearean garden on an English country estate. Arriving at Kirkwood Hall, ancestral home of Sir Graham Kirkwood and his wife, Stella, Sorrel is shocked by the desolate state of the walled garden. Intrigued by the house’s history and increasingly drawn to Stella’s enigmatic brother, Sorrel sets to work. And though she knows her true home is across the sea with her sisters, instinct tells her that the English garden’s destiny is entwined with her own, if only she can unravel its secrets.

» Click here for the featured guide.
 

A PIECE OF THE WORLD by Christina Baker Kline

To Christina Olson, the entire world was her family’s remote farm in the small coastal town of Cushing, Maine. Born in the home her family had lived in for generations, and increasingly incapacitated by illness, Christina seemed destined for a small life. Instead, for more than 20 years, she was host and inspiration for the artist Andrew Wyeth, and became the subject of one of the best known American paintings of the 20th century.

» Click here for the featured guide.

 

EVERY WILD HEART by Meg Donohue

When radio personality Gail Gideon’s husband announced that he wanted a divorce, her ensuing on-air rant propelled her local radio show into the national spotlight. But fame comes at a price. After all, what does a woman who has staked her career on being single do when she finds herself falling in love? And is the person who is harassing her a misguided fan or a true danger to Gail and her daughter, Nic? Plagued by a fear of social situations, 14-year-old Nic is most comfortable at the stable where she spends her afternoons. But when a riding accident lands Nic in the hospital, she awakens from her coma changed. She suddenly has no fear at all, and her disconcerting behavior lands her in one risky situation after another.

» Click here to read more about the book.
» Click here to read a fun interview between Meg Donohue and her protagonist, Gail Gideon.

New Guides

The New York Times bestselling and legendary author of HELEN OF TROY and ELIZABETH I now turns her gaze on Emperor Nero, one of the most notorious and misunderstood figures in history.

From the New York Times bestselling author of You Should Have Known and Admission, a twisty new novel about a college president, a baffling student protest, and some of the most hot-button issues on today's college campuses.

From USA Today bestselling author Meg Donohue comes a mystery, a love story, and a mother-daughter tale about two women on a precarious journey to uncover their true selves.

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Sarah Jio, THE FORBIDDEN GARDEN is a lush imaginative novel that takes readers into the heart of a mysterious English country garden, waiting to spring to life.

The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins - Historical Fantasy

What became of magic in the world? Who needed to do away with it, and for what reasons? Drawing on myth, legend, fairy tales and Biblical mysteries, THE LAST DAYS OF MAGIC brilliantly imagines answers to these questions, sweeping us back to a world where humans and magical beings co-exist as they had for centuries.

Lover by Anna Raverat - Fiction

You can learn a lot about a husband by reading his email --- sometimes, too much. LOVER, the British writer Anna Raverat’s U.S. debut, is an observation of love, work and life as seen through the lens of a troubled marriage.

A modern-day expansion of Hans Christian Andersen’s THE LITTLE MERMAID, this unforgettable debut novel weaves a spellbinding tale of magic and the power of love as a descendent of the original mermaid fights the terrible price of saving herself from a curse that has affected generations of women in her family.

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the smash bestseller ORPHAN TRAIN comes a stunning and atmospheric novel of friendship, passion and art, inspired by Andrew Wyeth’s mysterious and iconic painting Christina’s World.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa See comes a moving story about tradition, tea farming, and the enduring connection between mothers and daughters.

THIS CLOSE TO HAPPY is the rare, vividly personal account of what it feels like to suffer from clinical depression, written from a woman’s perspective and informed by an acute understanding of the implications of this disease over a lifetime.