Skip to main content

More Guides

Hardcover: August 25, 2015

Philippa Gregory delivers a riveting new Tudor tale featuring King Henry VIII’s sixth wife, Kateryn Parr, the first English queen to publish under her own name. 

Paperback: September 8, 2015

From the PEN/Faulkner finalist and critically acclaimed author of HOLD IT ‘TIL IT HURTS comes a dark and socially provocative southern-fried comedy about four liberal UC Berkeley students who stage a mock lynching during a Civil War reenactment --- a fierce, funny, tragic work from a bold new writer.

Paperback: September 15, 2015

In this riveting, poignant memoir of  three generations of women and the white dresses that adorned them --- television producer Mary Pflum Peterson recounts a journey through loss and redemption, and her battle to rescue her mother, a former nun, from compulsive hoarding.

Hardcover: September 15, 2015

Stylishly inventive, WILBERFORCE is an indelible portrait of a young man caught between lust and cruelty, grief and God, frustrated love and abject longing.

Paperback: October 8, 2015

Lou Kasischke tells the harrowing story of what went wrong on May 10, 1996 --- when eight climbers died near the top of Mount Everest in what was the worst tragedy in the mountain's history --- and how, by a miracle of love, he managed to survive.

Paperback: August 11, 2015

BIG LITTLE LIES is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

Flood of Fire by Amitav Ghosh - Historical Fiction
Hardcover: August 4, 2015

FLOOD OF FIRE, an epic and sweeping story, is a richly populated novel, imbued with a wealth of historical detail, suffused with the magic of place, and plotted with verve. It is a beautiful novel.

Footprints in the Desert by Maha Akhtar - Historical Fiction
Paperback: August 4, 2015

The tale from the time of Lawrence of Arabia that you haven't read --- this thrilling work of historical fiction set during the fall of the Ottoman Empire tells the story of a circle of friends whose lives and loves become entangled in the crusade for freedom.

Hardcover: July 14, 2015

Originally written in the mid-1950s, GO SET A WATCHMAN picks up 20 years after the events of TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD, as Jean Louise Finch --- Scout --- returns home to Maycomb to visit her father and struggles with issues both personal and political, involving Atticus, society, and the small Alabama town that shaped her.

Golden Earrings by Belinda Alexandra - Historical Romance
Paperback: August 18, 2015

For fans of Colleen McCullough, Kate Morton, and Lucinda Riley, a powerful saga of family, love, honor and betrayal set in historical Barcelona and romantic Paris, from the author of TUSCAN ROSE.